Pinkster Hotline +31 (0) ... (only during tournament)

No Pinkster Tournament 2020 end of May

The Coronavirus pandemic is effecting the whole world and big parts of Europe and the rest of the world are in lockdown. Therefore we have to inform you – with regret – that the Pinkster Tournament 2020 cannot take place end of May.

In the next couple of weeks we will investigate whether a slimmed down version of the tournament (3 days) can take place beginning of September. We hope to inform you about this no later than 15 April.

Refund policy

  1. Are you considering to participate in the slimmed down version of the Pinkster Tournament in September? Then you don’t have to do anything. Just wait until we confirm whether it can take place.
  2. When you will not participate in the slimmed down version of the Pinkster Tournament in September, please send us an e-mail to informing us that you would like to withdraw including your name and GLTA ID number. We will then arrange the refund (excluding the money donated for the Outreach Program).

    When you have paid via Paypal, the refund will be done via Paypal. When you have paid via a bank transfer, we will wire the refund to the bank account of which you have paid the fees.

In the meanwhile we hope you are safe and healthy and we wish you good luck and all the best during these difficult times.

Your Pinkster Tournament directors,
Bea Vrijhof and Frank Basjes

This year’s Pinkster Tournament team


Tournament director (operations): Bea Vrijhof





Operational and technnical assistance: Marion Fisser




Tournament director (technical): Frank Basjes





Communications: Annemiek L’Ortye, ellekari jongenelen, Eric van der Palen




In 1993 a few gay and lesbian tennisplayers took the initiative to organise a friendly gay and lesbian tournament. 16 men and 16 women from various tennisclubs participated. The event took place on Pinkster Saturday.

In 1994 they organized the tournament again, this time as a preparation for those who were going to participate the Gay Games in New York. Amsterdam sent a strong delegation to the New York Gay Games because we were bidding to host the Gay Games in 1998 Amsterdam. You probably know that we won the bid!

Since 1995 the gay tennisplayers used a couple of courts on Saturday afternoons, and gradually their initiative attracted more participants. The idea for a gay and lesbian tennisclub was born. In 1996 Tom Bijlmer and Ed van Betuwe founded the first gay and lesbian tennisclub: Smashing Pink. The club got their first clay courts at NTC tennispark.

In the years to come Smashing Pink grew rapidly to over 400 gay and lesbian members. Once Amsterdam was elected to organize the Gay Games in 1998 the yearly Pinksterstennis became a rehearsal for organizing gay and lesbian tennistournaments on a larger scale.

For clubmembers as well as for many others the Pinkster Tournament is a yearly highlight.

Pinkster Trophy

In the spirit of gay and lesbian visibility in sports the Pinkstertournament rewards a remarkable participant for his or her achievements every year. The Pinkster Trophy symbolises LGBTI empowerment. The trophy was initiated by Ed van Betuw, one of the founders of the Pinkstertournament:
“The trophy emphasizes the aim of the tournament for inclusion and gay empowerment in sports. Everyone, regardless their gender, age or level of play can win the trophy.”
Artist Berenice Witsen Elias designed the Pinkster Trophy.
Niek van der Spek won the Pinkster Trophy 2019.

Previous Winners Pinkster Trophy

2019 Niek van der Spek

2018 Reese Arlington Scott

2017 Diego Puls

2016 Sussi Oscarsson

2015 Sophie Barbier

2014 Luis Madejón Muñoz

2013 Marcus Tettera

2012 Jaime Koster

2011 Marianne Brandt

2010 Patrick Tang

2009 Roman Pavlicek

2008 Luc Albert

2007 Francis Dunselman

2005 Rens van Roosmalen

2004 Pieter de Vilder

2003 Gerrie Mulder

2002 Peter Ravell

2001 Remi van Gent

2000 Jacqueline van Meyel

1999 Uwe Lammel

1998 Karel Kneppelhout

1997 Margie Scharff

1996 Mariels Braat

1995 Marianne R. Vrijdaghs

1994 Annelies van Wijngaarden

1993 Hans Tulleners



our other sponsors

Van der Voort Bloem en Lifestyle
Spa Zuiver
Grand Cafe L'Opera
27Huis Makelaars